Saturday, 22 November 2014

Zoot - Just Zoot

1 X 2 X 3 X 4/Mr. Songwriter/Flying/Yes I'm Glad/Who's Afraid Of You/About Time/Monty And Me/Sailing/Feelings/Sha La La/She's Alright/Shake A Feather

Zoot were a pop/rock band formed in Adelaide, South Australia in 1965 as Down the Line. They changed their name to Zoot in 1967 and by 1968 had relocated to Melbourne. They had a top five hit on the Go-Set national singles chart with a heavy rock cover of The Beatles' ballad "Eleanor Rigby" released in 1970; but they disbanded in May 1971.

Mainstay bass guitarist, Beeb Birtles, was later a founder of Little River Band in 1975 and guitarist singer-songwriter, Rick Springfield, who moved to the United States in 1972, achieved international fame as a solo artist, songwriter and actor.

Band Members

Beeb Birtles – bass guitar, guitar (2011), vocals (1965–1971, 2011)
Darryl Cotton – lead vocals, guitar (1965–1971, 2011; died 2012)
Teddy Higgins – drums (1965–1968)
John D'Arcy – guitar, vocals (1965–1968)
Steve Stone – guitar (1968)
Rick Brewer – drums (1968–1971, 2011)
Roger Hicks – guitar (1968–1969)
Rick Springfield – lead guitar, vocals (1969–1971, 2011)

Zoot reunited for the Rick Springfield and Friends cruise in November 2011. Sadly Darryl Cotton passed away 8 months later from liver cancer.


  1. Thanks for this album. I have heard the cd form the concert on the ship and it is great. Looking forward to listening to this album.