Wednesday, 12 October 2016

Sherbet - 1974 - Slipstream FLAC

Slipstream/Endless Place/Wild Love/Another Hustler/What Is It All About/Freedom/Silvery Moon/Handy Mandy/When The Sunshine Turns To Grey/Earthquake In My Head/So Glad You're Mine

Sherbet was formed in 1969 by Clive Shakespeare with members of three Sydney bands. He had been in a band called Downtown Roll Band. With fellow members Doug Rae on bass & Danny Taylor on drums, he recruited Sam See on keys from Clapham Junction and Dennis Laughlin from Sebastian Hardie Blues Band on lead vocals. Like a lot of bands their lineup was fluid in the early days but by 1972 the first classic lineup of Daryl Braithwaite on vocals, Clive Shakespeare on guitar, Garth Porter on keys, Alan Sandow on drums and Tony Mitchell on bass.

 They toured relentlessly and were known as one of the hardest working and most professional acts of the time. All the while Daryl Braithwaite was having solo success as well. He was named “King Of Pop” from three years running from 1975 – 1977 and Sherbet were voted Best Australian Group five years in a row from 1973 to 1978.


In 1976 Clive Shakespeare left due largely to the heavy pressure and relentless touring. He was replaced by Harvey James, who had been successful in both Mississippi and Ariel, just as the band were hitting peak popularity. Like too many bands of their era they tried to break into the U.S. market but never quite pulled it off. They changed their name to “Highway” to try and get away from their previous bubblegum pop image but despite having some great local success the band decided to fold in late 1979.

The break was brief, however, and they were back in 1980 as “Sherbs” with the same lineup. A couple more years of touring saw them again call it quits in 1984 although they have performed at various one off events like the Harvey James Tribute Concert.

Slipstream is an album by Sherbet released in 1974. According to the Kent Music Report, it spent 35 weeks in the Australian Charts reaching a highest position of No. 3.

After a heavy touring schedule during the summer of '73 / '74, Sherbet packed a couple of guitars, and the electric piano, bathers, fishing lines, assorted goodies and recording equipment and headed off down the south coast of New South Wales to unwind in Clive's sea side house. Most of the songs on this album were written or conceived during this period.

Daryl Braithwaite: lead vocals
Tony Mitchell: bass guitar & vocals
Clive Shakespeare: guitars & vocals
Garth Porter: keyboards & vocals
Alan Sandow: drums

Produced by Sherbet and Richard Batchens
Recorded at Festival's Studio 24, Sydney, Australia June - August 1974

All tracks remastered by William Bowden, Festival Studios

No comments:

Post a Comment